Do pagans have more fun?


Well, here is the answer, from the master of fun himself: G. K. Chesterton. He manages to capture in a unique way what has been my own experience with these folks who reject Christianity in the name of… fun. You know that ilk. Its those who believe that Christians believe that Aristotle’s book on comedy is dangerous to faith, or some such, and go around preaching about „living your life to the full”. And after having chastized the Christians on this ground they go on to live a life that is boringly common and regular.

To these guys I can only say: we have Chesterton, you don’t. So, up yours, pal.

The Song of the Strange Ascetic

G.K. Chesterton

If I had been a Heathen,
I’d have praised the purple vine,
My slaves should dig the vineyards,
And I would drink the wine.
But Higgins is a Heathen,
And his slaves grow lean and grey,
That he may drink some tepid milk
Exactly twice a day.

If I had been a Heathen,
I’d have crowned Neaera’s curls,
And filled my life with love affairs,
My house with dancing girls;
But Higgins is a Heathen,
And to lecture rooms is forced,
Where his aunts, who are not married,
Demand to be divorced.

If I had been a Heathen,
I’d have sent my armies forth,
And dragged behind my chariots
The Chieftains of the North.
But Higgins is a Heathen,
And he drives the dreary quill,
To lend the poor that funny cash
That makes them poorer still.

If I had been a Heathen,
I’d have piled my pyre on high,
And in a great red whirlwind
Gone roaring to the sky;
But Higgins is a Heathen,
And a richer man than I:
And they put him in an oven,
Just as if he were a pie.

Now who that runs can read it,
The riddle that I write,
Of why this poor old sinner,
Should sin without delight-
But I, I cannot read it
(Although I run and run),
Of them that do not have the faith,
And will not have the fun.
          (G. K. Chesterton – 1913) 

Published in: on Iulie 12, 2010 at 1:27 pm  Lasă un comentariu  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mihaisarbu.wordpress.com/2010/07/12/do-pagans-have-more-fun/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Lasă un răspuns

